Japanese PM Kishida's Cabinet reshuffle

Japan's Prime Minister Kishida Fumio will reshuffle his Cabinet on Wednesday evening. He made Liberal Democratic Party executive appointments earlier in the day.

Kishida plans to keep Chief Cabinet Secretary Matsuno Hirokazu and Finance Minister Suzuki Shunichi in their current positions to maintain his administration's framework.

Eleven new Cabinet members

The new Cabinet lineup will include 11 first-timers, six holdovers and two people who served in previous Cabinets.

In addition to Matsuno and Suzuki, the following ministers will likely retain their positions: Economy, Trade and Industry Minister Nishimura Yasutoshi, Digital Transformation Minister Kono Taro, Economic Security Minister Takaichi Sanae as well as Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism Minister Saito Tetsuo of Komeito.

From left: Chief Cabinet Secretary Matsuno Hirokazu, Finance Minister Suzuki Shunichi, and Economy, Trade and Industry Minister Nishimura Yasutoshi.

Five women to join Cabinet

Meanwhile, five women will join the Cabinet, tying the number who served in Prime Minister Abe Shinzo's Cabinet in 2014.

Kamikawa Yoko will be the new foreign minister.

Kamikawa Yoko, a former justice minister, will become foreign minister, Kato Ayuko will be appointed as minister in charge of policies related to children, Tsuchiya Shinako will serve as reconstruction minister and Jimi Hanako will become regional revitalization minister.

He is also set to name Suzuki Junji as internal affairs and communications minister, Kihara Minoru as defense minister and Moriyama Masahito as education, culture, sports, science and technology minister.

Kihara Minoru will be the new defense minister.

Koizumi Ryuji will be appointed as justice minister, Miyashita Ichiro as agriculture, forestry and fisheries minister and Ito Shintaro as environment minister.

Upper House members Takemi Keizo will be appointed as health, labor and welfare minister, and Matsumura Yoshifumi will become National Public Safety Commission chairperson.

LDP leadership appointments

Kishida made Liberal Democratic Party executive appointments on Wednesday morning ahead of the Cabinet reshuffle.

Kishida is retaining Vice President Aso Taro, Secretary General Motegi Toshimitsu, Policy Research Council Chairperson Hagiuda Koichi and Diet Affairs Committee Chairperson Takagi Tsuyoshi in their current positions.

From left: LDP Vice President Aso Taro, Secretary General Motegi Toshimitsu and Policy Research Council Chairperson Hagiuda Koichi.

Kishida named Moriyama Hiroshi, who served as Election Strategy Committee chairperson, as the General Council chairperson.

Obuchi Yuko, who served as head of the Party Organization and Campaign Headquarters, was given Moriyama's former post.

Official inauguration on Wednesday night

Kishda will hold a meeting with Komeito Chief Representative Yamaguchi Natsuo in the afternoon and set up a Cabinet formation headquarters at the prime minister's office to carry out the reshuffle.

The newly reshuffled Cabinet of Prime Minister Kishida Fumio is expected to be officially inaugurated Wednesday evening after an attestation ceremony at the Imperial Palace.

To see analysis: https://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/en/news/backstories/2716/