Taiwan's president-elect announces key members of his new team

Taiwan's President-elect Lai Ching-te has announced key members of his new security team ahead of taking office next month.

Lai held a news conference on Thursday and revealed the appointments to eight crucial posts for his administration. He will take office on May 20.

Current Foreign Minister Joseph Wu will serve as head of the National Security Council. He held the same post during the first year of outgoing President Tsai Ing-wen's first term and became foreign minister in 2018. Lin Chia-lung will succeed him as Taiwan's top diplomat.

Wellington Koo, who is now leading the NSC, has been appointed as defense minister. He has served as NSC head since the start of Tsai's second term.

Koo visited the United States with Wu in February last year and met senior officials of the US State Department and the Defense Department.

Chiu Chui-cheng will become head of the Mainland Affairs Council, which handles measures on China. He served as deputy on the council for nearly seven years, through last year, under Tsai's policy that Taiwan will not be provocative and will not give in to pressure.

The appointments suggest that Lai will maintain the policy of the outgoing administration regarding diplomacy toward the US and China.