G7 foreign ministers issue statement denouncing Russia's invasion of Ukraine

The Group of Seven foreign ministers have issued a statement denouncing Russia's invasion of Ukraine and calling for the immediate and unconditional withdrawal of Russian forces.

The top diplomats met for about two hours on Monday on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly in New York.

Japan's Foreign Minister Kamikawa Yoko, making her G7 debut, chaired the meeting.

The ministers confirmed they will deal firmly with Russia, and work together to support Ukraine.

They also shared their deep concern that last week's summit between Russian President Vladimir Putin and North Korean leader Kim Jong Un could lead to bilateral cooperation that would be in violation of relevant UN Security Council resolutions.

The G7 welcomed Japan's efforts to ensure safety with regard to its release of treated and diluted water from the damaged Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant into the sea.

The ministers decided to hold their next round of talks in Tokyo on November 7 and 8.

Kamikawa told reporters after the meeting that they had candid and intensive exchanges on issues such as Ukraine.

She pledged to take the initiative in discussions in the run-up to the next foreign ministers' meeting in Tokyo in November.