Ozeki Takakeisho wins 3rd sumo title

Ozeki Takakeisho won his third title on the final day of the New Year Grand Sumo tournament in Tokyo on Sunday. It was his first title since November 2020.

Takakeisho finished with 12 wins and three losses by beating the lower-ranked Kotoshoho with a beltless arm throw in the final bout.

Takakeisho and Kotoshoho had been tied with 11 wins and 3 losses after the 14th day on Saturday.

Takakeisho lost on the second day of the 15-day tournament, but went on to win eight bouts in a row with his powerful pushing and thrusting attacks.

He lost two bouts in a row on the 11th and 12th days, but tied Kotoshoho by beating Onosho in a fierce bout on the 13th day.

The New Year tournament was the first in 125 years to have just one Yokozuna and one Ozeki on the ranking list.

But Yokozuna Terunofuji was absent from the first day due to an injury.