G7 trade ministers agree to keep sanctions on Russia

Trade ministers from the Group of Seven countries have agreed to maintain economic sanctions against Russia.

The G7 ministers met outside Berlin on Thursday.

Their main agenda was what they called Russia's unprovoked illegal war of aggression against Ukraine.

The ministers said they will maintain and expand efforts to prevent Moscow from profiting from its invasion.

They also pledged to support Ukraine's recovery through trade.

The ministers confirmed they will step up efforts to make international trade rules stronger to tackle their shared concerns.

These include forced technology transfer and giving favorable treatment to state-owned enterprises. Observers said such concerns involve China.

The G7 ministers said they are committed to reforming the World Trade Organization.

Critics have said the organization is not fully equipped to address growing international trade disputes, including those between China and the United States.