China sanctions Taiwan senior officials

China's government has announced sanctions against Taiwan's premier and two other senior officials, who it accuses of inciting hostility across the Taiwan Strait.

On Friday, China's Taiwan Affairs Office spokesperson Zhu Fenglian said Beijing will sanction people on a list of what it called "stubborn secessionists" in accordance with law.

She said Taiwan's Premier Su Tseng-chang, Foreign Minister Joseph Wu and Legislative Speaker You Si-kun are among those who have instigated cross-strait confrontations and worked with external forces to divide the country.

Zhu said they will be prohibited from entering China, including Hong Kong and Macao.

Companies and sponsors linked to people on the list will not be allowed to make profits on the mainland.

Taiwan has recently had close contact with the West, including the United States.

Taiwan Foreign Minister Wu visited Europe last month. And this week, the European Parliament sent its first official delegation to Taiwan.

Taiwan's Mainland Affairs Council reacted sharply to the sanctions. It said, "We do not accept intimidation and threats from an autocratic and authoritarian region."

The council said it will take countermeasures if China tries to destroy Taiwan's democracy and freedom.