RCEP free-trade pact to take effect in January

The Japanese Foreign Ministry said on Wednesday the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership, or RCEP, will take effect on January 1 after the necessary procedures are completed.

The massive free trade zone will cover 15 Asia-Pacific economies, including members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, Japan and China.