Philippines, Russia journalists win Nobel Prize

Two journalists from the Philippines and Russia have been named the winners of this year's Nobel Peace Prize.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee said on Friday that it had decided to award the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.

The committee called the pair representatives of all journalists who are standing up for their rights, even as democracy and freedom of the press are coming under increasing threat.

Maria Ressa is the co-founder of Rappler, a digital media company for investigative journalism. Rappler focused attention on the controversial Duterte regime and its deadly war on drugs in the Philippines.

Ressa has also documented how social media is being used to spread fake news, harass opponents, and manipulate public discourse. The Nobel committee called her a fearless defender of freedom of expression in her country.

Dmitry Muratov is one of the founders of independent newspaper Novaja Gazeta. The Nobel committee describes it as having a fundamentally critical attitude towards power in Russia. The newspaper's staff has faced harassment, threats and violence.

Six of its journalists have been killed since the newspaper was started in 1993. But despite that, Muratov has defended the right of Russian journalists to write anything they want.