UN chief congratulates Nobel physics winners

UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres has congratulated the winners of this year's Nobel Prize in Physics for their contribution to the study of climate change.

The award will be shared by scientists Syukuro Manabe who was born in Japan, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi.

Guterres tweeted on Tuesday that, "Their commitment to science & understanding how the world around us works have created the foundations to act on the most pressing challenges humanity faces, including the climate crisis."