Govt. decides to extend emergency measures

The Japanese government has decided to extend the state of emergency for Tokyo and eight other prefectures through June 20 in an effort to contain the coronavirus.

The decision was made at a meeting of the government's task force on Friday, attended by Prime Minister Suga Yoshihide and other senior officials.

The state of emergency for Hokkaido, Tokyo, Aichi, Osaka, Hyogo, Kyoto, Okayama, Hiroshima and Fukuoka had been set to end on Monday next week.

The officials decided to extend it to June 20 -- the same day it is due to expire in Okinawa.

They also decided to extend the intensive preventative measures in Saitama, Chiba, Kanagawa, Gifu and Mie to June 20.

But similar measures for Gunma, Ishikawa and Kumamoto will not be extended beyond their expiration date of June 13.