Stricter virus steps to be taken in 3 prefectures

The Japanese government will allow Osaka, Hyogo, and Miyagi prefectures to take stricter virus measures for one month from Monday.

The plan was approved by the government's panel of experts on the coronavirus on Thursday.

The prefectures will be the first to take such measures under a revised law passed in February. The revision enables governors to take focused antivirus steps without a state of emergency declaration.

Government officials say the intensive measures are planned in the city of Osaka, the cities of Kobe, Nishinomiya, Amagasaki, and Ashiya in Hyogo Prefecture, and the city of Sendai in Miyagi, which have seen a resurgence in coronavirus infections.

The government will formally approve the designation at a taskforce meeting later on Thursday.